1 post / 0 new
Interview with Ryan Stone, Winner of Poetry Nook's 101st Weekly Poetry Contest

By Simona Grigorova

Ryan Stone is a freelance writer living in Melbourne, Australia. His works appeared in the Writers’ ForumBlack Poppy ReviewNapalm And NovocainThe Ekphrastic Review, Poppy Road ReviewHouseboatEunoia Review and Pyrokinection. He won the Goodreads Newsletter Contest in August this year.
You can follow him in here.

Can you tell me about your background and how you ended up where you are today?

I'm from Melbourne, Australia. Although I have no real love of uniforms, I've worn a few in my life so far: the combat fatigues of a soldier in the field and driving a battle tank, the turnout gear of a fire-fighter; I've been a rank-and-file cop, a detective, a Police K9 handler and a member of a plain-clothes special duties team. When all the uniforms are stripped off, I like to think it is the writer who remains.

I have no formal credentials, just an observer's eye and an insatiable appetite for books. I'm rough around the edges but the right turn of phrase will stop me dead in my tracks every time. I love Metallica and Ted Kooser with equal passion and my closest friend in the world is my German Shepherd (just don't tell my wife).

What influences your poetry? Is there a particular author or a book that has had an impact on your writing? Do you have non-literary sources of creative influence?

Originally, my love of poetry was nurtured by Maya Angelou, Kenneth Slessor, Jim Morrison (The Doors) and Jewel. When I first discovered Ted Kooser a few years ago, I think my poetry took a huge leap forwards. His book, "The Poetry Home Repair Manual" was full of 'Aha!' moments for me. Most recently, I've lost myself in the brilliant Buddy Wakefield and Richard Hugo's "The Triggering Town".